This topic describes how to enable and disable dSources when certain operations against the source database must occur outside of Delphix.

Some operations, such as restoring the source database from a backup, will require that the dSource be temporarily disabled. Disabling a dSource turns off communication between it and the source database, but it does not tear down the configuration that enables communication and data updation to take place. When a disabled dSource is later enabled, it will resume communication and incremental data updates from the source database according to the original policies and data management configurations that have been set initially.

Disabling a dSource is also a prerequisite for several other operations, such as database migration and upgrading the dSource metadata after upgrade of the associated data source.

Procedure

Disabling a dSource will stop further operations on the Delphix Engine related to the dSource.

  1. Login to the Delphix Management application.

  2. Click Manage.

  3. Select Datasets.

  4. Select the dSource you want to disable.

  5. In the upper right-hand corner, from the Actions menu (...) select Disable.

  6. In the Disable dialog select Disable.

To enable the dSource again, from the Actions menu (...) select Enable, and the dSource will continue to function as it did previously.

Optionally, the database configuration parameters which were provided during the linking operation could be changed.