Each dSource contains metadata that associates it with the source database, as well as the data it has ingested from the source database in the form of snapshots up to that point. It is possible to detach, or unlink, a dSource from its source database. This breaks the association with the source database without affecting the data within the Delphix Engine. Detached dSources and their source databases have these properties:

  • A detached dSources can still be used to provision a virtual database (VDB).
  • You can re-link the source database as a different dSource.

Prerequisites

A dSource can only be attached to a new data source once it has been unlinked.

Detaching a dSource

  1. Login to the Delphix Management application as a user with OWNER privileges on the dSource, group, or domain.
  2. Click Manage.
  3. Select Databases.
  4. Select the database you want to unlink or delete.
  5. From the Actions menu (...) select Unlink.
    A warning message will appear. 
  6. Click Unlink to confirm.


Rebuilding Source Databases and Using VDBs

In situations where you want to rebuild a source database but retain the existing dSource, you will need to detach the original dSource and create a new one from the rebuilt data source.

  1. Detach the dSource as described in the procedure on this page.
  2. You cannot attach a dSource with the same name as a dSource that is already attached. If you intend to give the new dSource the same name as the original one, rename the detached dSource.
    1. At the top of the Configuration tab, next to the dSource's name, click the Edit (pencil) icon.
    2.  After renaming the dSource, click the green check mark.
  3. Create the new dSource from the rebuilt database.

You will now be able to provision VDBs from both the detached dSource and the newly created one, but the detached dSource will only represent the state of the source database prior to being detached.

Attaching a Previously Detached dSource

You can only re-attach databases that represent the same physical database.

  1. Login to the Delphix Management application as a user with OWNER privileges on the dSource, group, or domain.
  2. Click Manage.
  3. Select Databases.
  4. Select the database you want to re-attach.
  5. From the Actions menu (...) select Link dSource.
  6. Select the environment and database that represents the source to which you would like to re-attach.
  7. Select an appropriate staging environment, and choose the credentials that should be used to authenticate to the source database.
  8. Click Link to link the dSource to the new source database.
  9. Once linking is complete, use the Configuration > Data Management tab to set up an appropriate Validated Sync configuration.

Attaching a Previously Detached dSource using CLI

The attach operation is currently only supported from the command line interface (CLI). Full GUI support will be added in a future release. You can only re-attach databases that represent the same physical database.

  1. Login to the Delphix CLI as delphix_admin or a user with OWNER privileges on the dSource, group, or domain.
  2. Select the dSource by name using database select <dSource Name>. 
  3. Run the attachSource command.
  4. Set the source config you want to attach to, using set source.config=<Source Database Unique Name>. Source configs are named by their database unique name.
  5. Set any other source configuration operations as you would for a normal link operation.

  6. Run the commit command.