Understanding Replication Functionality and User Interface

The replication UI helps users manage replication on both the source and the target. Replication consists of a profile-replica pair. You can view and edit the profile on the source engine, and view the replica on the target engine.

Understanding Sources for Replication

The Replication Profile section continues to handle the existing functionality but allows for the configuration of multiple replication profiles. This makes it possible to replicate objects from a single source to multiple targets. Each profile defines the set of data objects and the associated configuration between a single source and target.

Understanding Targets for Replication

The Replica section shows you the set of all objects in the replica and allows you to initiate failover. As in the old UI, one Delphix Engine can have multiple “received replicas.” This means that the engine is the target of multiple sources of replication or profiles.

Canceling a Replication Job

You must cancel the replication job at the source engine. Canceling the replication job at the target engine results in the re-starting of the receiving job at the target engine. If the source engine is down, then you can cancel the replication job at the target engine. If you re-start the source engine where the replication job was previously running, the source engine will attempt to restart the replication send job.

User Interface Replication Screen 

There are three interconnected sections that have been introduced to make the replication workflow easier. These three sections include the Replication Profile, Create New Replication and Replica.

Interacting with the Replication Profiles Section

The screenshot and descriptions below illustrate the capabilities in the Replication Profiles section. Click the screenshot for an enlarged view.


Create Profile Button

It allows you to configure a Replication Profile.

Replication Profiles List

Provides a list of existing replication profiles. Click a profile in this list to view its details.

Received Replicas List

Provides a list of all existing replicas on this Delphix Engine. Click a replica in this list to view its details.


Status Box

Shows the replication status of the selected profile, including:

  • The result of the most recent or current replication event
  • Statistics for the replication run such as data transferred, duration, and average throughput

In the upper left-hand corner, an icon summarizes the replication status. There are four possible status icons:

   
This icon appears while a replication job is in progress.   
This icon appears after a successful replication job.
This icon appears when a replication job has failed.
This icon appears when a replication job was cancelled.

Configuration Options

Configuration Options for the selected replication profile. These include:

  • Description – Free text description of the profile

  • Target Engine – The Delphix Engine on the receiving end of this replication pair

  • Automatic Replication – If enabled, shows the frequency and time that regular replication will be run

  • Traffic options – Summarizes the traffic options with which this profile has been configured

Object Selection Tree

Shows all of the objects, such as groups, dSources, VDBs, and Self-service (JetStream) data layouts, that you have selected for replication in this replication profile. If you select Entire Delphix Engine, all objects on the engine will be replicated, and thus the tree is collapsed.

Replicate Now Button

Begins the replication process

Delete Button

Allows you to delete the current profile

Interacting with the Create New Replication Profile Section

  1. In the left-hand navigation section, click the plus sign to create a profile. 
  2. Enter the name of the replication profile and an optional description.
  3. Select Replication Profile as the type.
  4. For Target Engine, enter the hostname or IP address for the target Delphix Engine.
  5. Enter the username and password of a user who has Delphix Admin-level credentials on the target Delphix Engine. If the username or password changes on the target Delphix Engine, you must update these settings on the source Delphix Engine.
  6. By default, automatic replication is disabled, meaning that you must trigger replication updates manually. To enable automatic replication, click the Enabled checkbox.
  7. In the  Automatic Replication field, enter the Frequency and Starting Time for replication updates to the target Delphix Engine. Once you have entered and saved your replication settings, you will also see an option to trigger replication immediately with the Replicate Now button.

    Note: Automatic replication uses Quartz for scheduling. Starting with Delphix version 4.2, the Quartz-formatted string is editable via the Advanced option. Please refer to the screenshot below:  

  8. Under Traffic Options, select whether you want to Encrypt traffic or Limit bandwidth during replication updates.
  9. In the right-hand column, under Objects Being Replicated, click the boxes next to the objects you want to replicate. 

Selected Objects

  • Some selected objects may have dependencies – other objects that will be pulled into replication because they share data. Objects that will be replicated are confirmed with a blue chain link icon.
    • Note that this is not guaranteed to be the full set of dependent objects, but rather is the best guess. The full set of objects and their dependents will be calculated at the time of replication.
  • When selecting objects, you can select the entire server (Entire Delphix Engine) or a set of groups, dSources, VDBs, and Jet Stream data layouts.
  • When replicating a group, all dSources and VDBs currently in the group, or added to the group at a later time, will be included.
  • If you select a Delphix Self-Service (Jet Stream) data template, all data containers created from that template will be included. Likewise, if you select a data container, its parent data template will be included.
  • If you select the entire server, all groups and Delphix Self-Service objects will be included.
  • Regardless of whether you select a VDB individually or as part of a group, the parent dSource or VDB (and any parents in its lineage) are automatically included. This is required because VDBs share data with their parent object. In addition, any environments containing database instances used as part of a replicated dSource or VDB are included as well.
  • When replicating individual VDBs, only those database instances and repositories required to represent the replicated VDBs are included. Other database instances that may be part of the environment, such as those for other VDBs, are not included.


10. Click
 Create Profile to submit the new profile. This saves the replication profile details. If you leave the Create page prior to submitting the profile, the draft replication profile will be discarded.

Interacting with the Replica Section

Click the screenshot below for an enlarged view of the Replica section. The descriptions below provide more details of the functionality of this section.

Status Box  

Similar to the Replication Profile status box, this shows the most up-to-date status information for the replica on the target

Replicated Environments

Replicating a dSource or VDB will automatically replicate any environments associated with those objects. For more information, see Replication Overview.

Replicated Objects Tree

A read-only view of the objects in this replica


Failover Button

Initiates a failover for this replica


Delete Button  

Deletes this Replica on the target. This does not have an effect on the corresponding profile on the source engine.

Getting Started: Working in the Replication User Interface

To navigate to the Replication UI screen:

  1. In the top navigation menu, click  System.
  2. Select Replication.

Viewing and Editing an Existing Replication Profile

To view and edit existing replicas:

  1. From the left-hand navigation area, under the Received Replicas section, select a replica.
  2. You can edit the Name and Description fields. All other fields are view-only.

To edit fields:

  1. Click the edit icon next to the corresponding field or group of fields.
  2. You will also see , which allows you to edit or cancel changes. 
    1. To commit to the edits and/or selections, click the Checkmark icon.
    2. To cancel the edits and/or selections, click the X icon.

Related Topics